top of page


On December 14, 1967, individuals interested in forming a new Scripture-based congregation in Fergus Falls gathered for an informational meeting in the Community Room of the Security State Bank. After meeting with Rev. John Strand, President of the Association of Free Lutheran Congregations on January 11, 1968, the group decided to affiliate with the AFLC. 

On Sunday, January 28, 1968, the first Sunday School and Worship Service was held at the National Guard Armory. On March 4, 1968, the name CALVARY FREE LUTHERAN CHURCH was chosen. The AFLC Constitution was also adopted at this time. Services continued to be held at the Armory until the former Evangelical United Brethren Church located on North Union Avenue became available for rent.  The first service was held there Easter Sunday 1968. The Sunday School, Luther League, and Ladies Aid were all organized in 1968. 

Property at the junction of county roads 1 and 111 was purchased for the new location for the congregation in the spring of 1971. Ground-breaking for the new facility took place on September 30, 1973. The first service was held in the present building on Sunday, July 7, 1974. Dedication Services were held three months later on Sunday, October 20, 1974.


On March 28, 1977, Calvary Free Lutheran and Stiklestad Free Lutheran Churches joined to form a two-point parish. Soon the need for a larger facility became evident. The ground-breaking for Calvary's new sanctuary took place Sunday, August 15, 1993.

During 1998, the need for additional space encouraged the church to add another section to the back of the new sanctuary. Included in this addition, is a youth room, two storage facilities, a library, three offices, a lounge, an additional classroom and a restroom.

Calvary’s Pastors

1968                    Forrest Swenson (Seminary Student)

1968                    Marvin Tungseth (Layman)

1968-1974           Julius Hermunslie

1974-1977           Ronald Hoehne

1977-1978           Julius Hermunslie, Harry Molstre, Melvin Walla (Retired Pastors)

1978-1981           Forrest Swenson

1981-1982           Donald Brue (interim)

1982-1984           Roger Krueger (lay-pastor)

1984-1985           David Rinden (interim)

1985-2000           Rodger Olson

1999-2007           Jason Holt (Associate Pastor)

2001-Present      Jim Johnson

2008-Present      Eric Rasmussen (Associate Pastor)

bottom of page